This is an exquisitely detailed, ornate, silver, four-lobed, vase shaped cup

Minot MacAskill Cup

This four-lobed, vase shaped cup was formerly the Minot Cup donated by Commodore Laurence Minot of the Eastern Yacht Club after racing his yacht Hope Leslie, an 84-foot schooner, in the inaugural, 1905 Marblehead to Halifax Ocean Race.

As was the practice of the day, after three consecutive wins, the trophy was won outright by Squadron member W.R MacAskill in 1932 onboard his yacht Highlander and presented to the Squadron the following year.

In 2015, the trophy was allocated to the MHOR national team competition in lieu of the RNSYS Race Committee Trophy.

Teams are comprised of three Canadian and three US yachts selected respectively by the Commodores of Royal Nova Scotia Yacht Squadron and Boston Yacht Club.

Past Winners

Year Team Yachts

2017 Canada Airborne IV, Deviation, Wandrian

2015 USA Spookie, Actaea, Shout

For results prior to 2015 see the RNSYS Race Committee Trophy